Reading Challenge 2015…The Handmaid’s Tale

reading challenge 2015

I didn’t need to make a new year’s resolution to “read more” I have always got my nose stuck in a book. But this year I am challenging myself to read a much more diverse genre, because if I am honest I really need a break from the paranormal romance that seems to of consumed me last year.

I cannot walk passed a second hand book shop, some kind of invisible vortex just sucks me in. once I am in , I can spending hours sifting through boxes and wondering the aisles looking for titles or covers that intrigue me.

I can even confess to spending a fair chunk of time, looking up my finds on Amazon when I get home, and getting  a kick out of it , if they have great reviews (nerdy I know)

After a few years of buying collecting books, but never getting round to reading them because of my obsession with paranormal romance series, I have ended up with a nice eclectic reading list for this year.

The Handmaids tale
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

The first book on my reading list is The Handmaid’s Tale, initially it was the cover that intrigued me, and the fact the book looked like it had been covet and read hundred’s of times.

I love that about second hand books, they have been in the hands of so many people, gazed upon by thousands upon thousands or hidden for years just waiting to be discovered, in some cases they have travelled around the world and out lived owners.

The Handmaid’s Tale is about a women who is stripped of her identity, and assigned to bear children for an elite couple (the commander and his stuck up wife) that are having trouble conceiving.

“we are two-legged wombs, that’s all: scared vessels, ambulatory chalices.”

Throughout the book Offred who real name we never discover has flash backs about her life before which includes her daughter, who was taken from her.  Now Offred’s freedom, like the freedom of all women, is completely restricted. She can leave the house only on shopping trips, the door to her room cannot be completely shut, and all books are banned, along with reading in any shape of form.

“Sanity is a valuable possession; I hoard it the way people once hoarded money. I save it, so I will have enough, when the time comes”

Every month, when Offred is at the right point in her menstrual cycle, she must have impersonal, wordless sex with the Commander while the stuck up bitch Serena sits behind her on the bed, holding her hands.

I have just got to the part where the Commander sends for Offred to come see him in his study one night when his wife is out. They play Scrabble (which is forbidden, since women are not allowed to read), and he lets her look at old magazines like Vogue. At the end of these secret meetings, he asks her to kiss him like she means it, which she tries to do.

“but all around the walls there are bookcases, they are filled with book”s. Books and books and books, right out in plain view, no locks, no boxes, no wonder we can’t come in here. It’s an oasis of the forbidden. I try not to stare.

Although I am really enjoying this book, it’s beautifully written and thought provoking. It just isn’t gripping enough for me. I love to be gripped by a book, so much so that I just cannot put it down and resume normal life and until I have devoured every page and reached the end.

I will give my full conclusion/star rating, when I have finished the booked.

So…Have any of you read it before? What did you think?

Here are the rest of the books currently on my “to be read” list.

Danielle’s bookshelf: to-read


goodreads.com

I would love to hear from anyone else doing a reading challenge this year! Please leave a link in the comments if you have recently done a book review or know of any blog hops you think I would be interested in. (Or let me know if you would like to join mine.)

Next week I will be sharing my favourite skin care products with you, so if your looking for a new ethical beauty product be sure to check back.

Have a wonderful weekend everyone, thank you for reading and sharing!

danielle

One thought on “Reading Challenge 2015…The Handmaid’s Tale

  1. I have never heard of the Handmaid’s Tale to be honest, but you made it sound so interesting (even though it does not belong to the genre I usually read), then again, maybe that is why I find it so original! As far as your to-read shelf goes, I have only read three of those books, but I can tell you I loved Thirteen Reasons why, I read it in on sit down, although I have heard people who hated it. Anyway, I have not read any Paranormal romance (or I think I have not), do you have any good suggestions?

    This is my reading challenge on goodreads, maybe we could recommend some nice books to each other for this year!
    https://www.goodreads.com/user_challenges/1898546

    Like

I would love to hear from you!

